Women jockeys at The Festival

Only two women jockeys have ridden Grade One winners over jumps - and both are riding at The Festival 2018 at Cheltenham this week.
Bryony Frost has been the poster girl of this Jump season. She first made a name for herself by taking the St James's Place Foxhunter Chase on Pacha Du Polder at The Festival last year, and on Boxing Day 2017 she won the Grade One 32Red Kauto Star Novices' Chase with Black Corton. 
Frost and the Paul Nicholls-trained Black Corton have won seven of their eight races together, and they are priced at around 6/1 for the RSA Insurance Novices' Chase on Wednesday.
Lizzie Kelly has a decent chance tomorrow in the Ultima Handicap Chase on 5/1 chance Coo Star Sivola, while on Wednesday she rides 12/1 shot Espirit De Somoza in the Boodles Fred Winter Juvenile Handicap Hurdle. Both are trained by her stepfather Nick Williams.
The Irish pair of Katie Walsh and Nina Carberry have long been established as top of the ranks of women amateurs, and both have rides at The Festival 2018. Walsh, who has two Festival winners to her name - Poker De Sivola in the 2010 National Hunt Chase and Thousand Stars in the 2010 Randox Health County Handicap Hurdle - will be aboard two Willie Mullins-trained horses in the early part of the week. They are Pylonthepressure in Tuesday's National Hunt Chase and Relegate in Wednesday's Weatherbys Champion Bumper.
Carberry, who missed last year's Festival because she was pregnant with her first child, has seven successes at The Festival under her belt. Four of them have been in the Glenfarclas Cross Country Chase (Heads On the Ground, 2007, Garde Champetre 2008 and 2009, Josies Orders 2016), and she rides Josies Orders, trained by Enda Bolger, once more in the 2018 race.
Another amateur, Lisa O'Neill, scored her first victory at The Festival in 2017 aboard the Gordon Elliott-trained Tiger Roll in the National Hunt Chase, and she will ride Mossback for Elliott in the same race this year.
In total, 11 women have ridden winners at The Festival. The first was Caroline Beasley, who took the 1983 Foxhunter Chase on Eliogarty. She was followed by Gee Armytage, who posted a double in 1987 aboard Gee-A and The Ellier. Katie Rimell won the 1989 Foxhunter Chase, Polly Curling took the same race in 1995 and Fiona Needham also lifted the magnificent Foxhunter Chase trophy in 2002. Rilly Goschen also won it in 2004.
In 2005 Nina Carberry rode the first of her seven Festival winners by capturing the Boodles Fred Winter Handicap Hurdle with Dabiroun. Katie Walsh enjoyed a double in 2010. Bryony Frost, Lisa O'Neill and Gina Andrews - the latter aboard Domesday Book in the Fulke Walwyn Kim Muir Chase - added their names to the Festival victory roll in 2017.