Schofield and Collett to represent HK and NZ in World All-Star Jockeys at Sapporo

Hong Kong based Australian Chad Schofield and New Zealand's Samamtha Collett will represent their riding bases in the Japan Racing Association's international World All-Star Jockeys event at Sapporo Racecourse on August 25th and 26th.

Formerly called the World Super Jockeys Series since its establishment in 1987 it has welcomed more than 230 top-caliber jockeys from Europe, North America, Oceania and Asia. 

This year’s event welcomes six outstanding jockeys from the United States, New Zealand, Ireland, France, Brazil and Hong Kong in joining one NAR (National Association of Racing; local public racing) jockey and seven JRA jockeys in their bid for the title. 

A team competition was added to the regular individual contest in 2015, in which the overseas and NAR jockeys form “Team WAS (World All-Star)” and compete against “Team JRA” to attain the most points as a team.

The first two of the four-race series will be conducted on August 25th (Sat), while the third and fourth will be held the following day.

Chad Schofield, picture Hong Kong Jockey Club

The 2018 World All-Star Jockeys

Saturday, August 25, 2018
Sunday, August 26, 2018

Sapporo Racecourse 

Saturday, August 25
10th race : 2018 World All-Star Jockeys First Leg
Three-Year-Olds & Up, Allowance (10Million & Less)
turf, 1,200 meters (about 6 furlongs)
11th race : 2018 World All-Star Jockeys Second Leg
Three-Year-Olds & Up, Allowance (16Million & Less)
turf, 2,000 meters (about 10 furlongs)

Sunday, August 26
10th race : 2018 World All-Star Jockeys Third Leg
Three-Year-Olds & Up, Allowance (10Million & Less)
dirt, 1,700 meters (about 8.5 furlongs)
12th race : 2018 World All-Star Jockeys Fourth Leg
Three-Year-Olds & Up, Allowance (10Million & Less)
turf, 1,800 meters (about 9 furlongs)

a. The top three jockeys will receive the following awards:
1st : ¥ 3 million (about US$ 27,273) & trophy valued at ¥ 300,000 (about US$ 2,727)
2nd : ¥ 2 million (about US$ 18,182)
3rd : ¥ 1 million (about US$ 9,091)


United States - Rafael Bejarano

New Zealand - Samantha Collett

Ireland - Shane Foley

France - Ioritz Mendizabal

Brazil - Joao Moreira

Hong Kong - Chad Schofield

JAPAN (NAR Representative; Hokkaido) - Masaaki Kuwamura

JAPAN (JRA, Ritto Training Center) - Yuichi Fukunaga

JAPAN (JRA, Ritto Training Center) - Christophe Lemaire

JAPAN (JRA, Miho Training Center) - Keita Tosaki

JAPAN (JRA, Miho Training Center) - Hironobu Tanabe

JAPAN (JRA, Ritto Training Center) - Mirco Demuro

JAPAN (JRA, Miho Training Center) - Hiroyuki Uchida

JAPAN (JRA, Ritto Training Center) - Yutaka Take

Details courtesy Japan Racing Association