Hong Kong


The Hong Kong Jockey Club Champion Awards 2018/2019 Final Nominees

The Champion Awards Judging Panel has elected the final nominees for The Hong Kong Jockey Club Champion Awards 2018/2019 as follows:

Horse of the Year Elected by votes of the Judging Panel from winners of the respective distance categories, excluding the Champion Griffin
Champion Sprinter 
(below 1400m)
Beat The Clock
Mr Stunning
Champion Miler 
(1400m to below 1800m)
Beauty Generation
Champion Middle-Distance Horse
(1800m to below 2200m)
Glorious Forever
Champion Stayer
(2200m and over)
Ho Ho Khan
Champion Griffin
(For new imports in the current season which arrived in Hong Kong unraced, and which were aged either 2 or 3 on the date of the first Hong Kong race meeting of the season – Brand C)
Champion's Way
Golden Sixty
Voyage Warrior
Tornado Twist

The Judging Panel is comprised of three members each from The Hong Kong Jockey Club and the Association of Hong Kong Racing Journalists.

The HKJC votes are made by the Chief Executive Officer, Mr. Winfried Engelbrecht-Bresges; Director of Racing Business and Operations, Mr. William Nader and Head of Handicapping, Race Planning and International Racing, Mr. Nigel Gray.

The three members from the Association of Hong Kong Racing Journalists are Chairman Mr. Carlos Wu, Vice Chairman Mr. Cheung Kam Yau and Committee Member Mr. Simon Leung.

The Panel commended the connections of each of the final nominees on the excellent performances of their horses this season.

Winners of the Champion Awards will be announced at The Hong Kong Jockey Club Champion Awards 2018/2019 presentation ceremony to be held on Friday, 12 July, at the Ritz-Carlton Hotel, Hong Kong.

Beauty Generation and Zac Purton, picture Hong Kong Jockey Club